What is Trust this Computer functionality means & what if you accidentally tapped on Don’t Trust this Computer & you want to reset it

What is trust settings means to your iOS & OSX device

Background: When you connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to a computer first time an alert asks whether you want to trust this computer or not.

Relationships of Trusted Devices:

  1. Trusted computers can sync with your iOS device, create backups, and access your device’s photos, videos, contacts, and other content.
  2. These computers remain trusted until you change device privacy settings or erase your iOS device.
  3. If you choose not to trust a computer, you block its access to content on your device. You’ll see the trust alert every time that you connect your iOS device to that computer.



Choose whether to trust or don’t trust a computer

Step 01: Connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to your computer or other device.

Step 02: Enter your passcode if you have one to unlock your iOS device.

Step 03: If you don’t want to trust the computer or other connected device, tap Don’t Trust on your iOS device. If you do want to trust the computer or other device, tap Trust.


What if you want to reset your settings e.g. If you accidentally tapped don’t trust this computer

Step 01: Disconnect your iOS device from computer

Step 02: In iOS 8 or later, tap Settings > General > Reset > Reset Location & Privacy.

Step 03: Now connect your iOS device to your computer you will be asked again with same ‘Trust this computer’ dialogue. Now tap on right choice this time :)

Hope it helps,

Thanks & Regards
Mandar Apte

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *